Feed on
We’re writing to let you know that you received Honorable Mention in yesterday’s article titled “Who’s Who in Academia” by Joseph Bozanek.
The article will remain available at www.newsdigest.today for the next few hours and is also available to download in PDF format.
Wishing you the best of continued success,
Mark Geierman, Ph.D.
Editor, News Digest International


From: Mailbox Support [mailto:gordonius@xtra.co.nz] <–Not a Wesleyan address.
Sent: Tuesday, July 11, 2017 5:51 PM
To: Hicks, Julia <xxxx@wesleyan.edu>
Subject: WARNING!! Email xxxx@wesleyan.edu requires verification.
Your email {xxxx@wesleyan.edu} requires verification!
The email account “xxx@wesleyan.edu incoming mails has been undeliverable due to low storage memory. To prevent loss of your account and any future email. please verify and extend your email limits.
xxxx@wesleyan.edu] Verify me

This is a button that sent you to a non-wesleyan address.


ITS will be performing scheduled maintenance on Saturday, July 15.  The following systems will be affected:

Wireless Access
Wireless access will be unavailable between 6 and 8 AM.

Wesfiles will be unavailable all day beginning at 7 AM.  We expect to have the service back online by 4:00 PM.

We will update our social media sites, Facebook and Twitter, as needed.



From: <geoperu@s3.mercaderiasdelperu.com>  <—Not a UPS address
Date: Thu, Jul 6, 2017 at 8:12 AM
Subject: {Filename?} New status of your UPS delivery (code: 3795159)
To: <xxxxxx@wesleyan.edu>

Warning: This message has had one or more attachments removed
Warning: (UPS-Package-3795159.zip, UPS-Package-3795159.doc.js).
Warning: Please read the “Wesleyan-Attachment-Warning.txt” attachment(s) for more information. <–Note: The attachment was removed as our scanners had already found it to be malicious.

Dear Customer,

UPS courier was unable to contact you for your parcel delivery.

Please check the attachment for details!

With anticipation,
UPS Office Agent.  <–Generic “person”/contact with no contact information to call and ask questions.

From: Billing Center <jhintz@netscape.ca>  <–Not a valid Bank of America address
Date: Wednesday, July 5, 2017 at 8:57 PM
To: “Xxxxx, Xxxx” <xxxxxxxx@wesleyan.edu>
Subject: The wire request is unsuccessful!
Thank you for choosing Bank of America.

The requested wire transfer can’t be processed. The receiver doesn’t exist. More information about this transfer is in attached document. The wire transfer amount will be refunded to your account in three business days.

Bank of America Corp.


There is an attachment associated with this email.  Please, do NOT open or click this attachment. 

From: “Quesenberry, Peter” <PQuesenberry@Lifespan.org>  <–Not a Wesleyan address
Date: 5 July 2017 at 1:41:25 PM GMT-4
To: “Quesenberry, Peter” <PQuesenberry@Lifespan.org>  <–Not a Wesleyan address
Subject: Faculty\Staff IT Service
To All Users,
We are currently upgrading our Server to 50GB inbox space and we have noticed your Email has almost elapsed. Your  outgoing emails will not be delivered by our server until we have you account confirmed, as to protecting your email account is our primary priority. For Web mail account update Click on Outlook Web Access  <–Hover and this will show a non-wesleyan address….CHHTP://ithelp-ithelp.c9users.io/OWA/Outlook/xxxxxx/
Connected to Microsoft Exchange
© 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
This transmission is intended only for the addressee(s) listed above and may contain information that is confidential. If you are not the addressee, any use, disclosure, copying or communication of the contents of this message is prohibited. Please contact me if this message was transmitted in error.
Google Documents <james@consultechmgt.com>
accounting@wesleyan.edu has shared a document through Google Docs.

Thank You

© 2017 Google

The “View Document” link is a false link and redirects you to a malware download. And th originating sender is not a Wesleyan Address.


This came with an attachment that is infected with malware. Never click on an attachment you are not expecting or have a sense is not legitimate. If you aren’t sure about an email or attachment from a known colleague/contact or were not expecting anything for them then call or email them. Ask if they had sent an attachment. Ask what it is about. Don’t be afraid of taking extra steps to keep Wesleyan and yourself at home, safe. 

From: Central Michigan University [mailto:outlookverification2@virginmedia.com]  <–Not a Michigan address–not the same as the originating school/company name
Sent: Tuesday, June 27, 2017 1:31 PM
Subject: CMU: Webmail Account Verification Alert!
Dear CMU User,
We noticed your CMU Webmail account has almost exceed it’s limit.And you may not be able to send or receive messages any moment from now.
Click Here To Renew Your Webmail Account. <[http://www[DOT]rci[DOT]stavsu[DOT]ru/administrator/backups/login%5bDOT%5dhtml]http://www[DOT]rci[DOT]stavsu[DOT]ru/administrator/backups/login[DOT]html>
Failure to renew your CMU Webmail account. It will be permanently disabled.
| CMU. ICT Department…
Copyright Central Michigan University.
From: ADP Payroll [run.payroll.invoice@performancesales.com]  <— Not an ADP nor Wesleyan address
Sent: Monday, June 26, 2017 1:08 PM
To: Carrier-Brault, Roslyn
Subject: ADP Payroll Invoice for week ending 06/24/2017 – 02406. Invoice: 00162774
Your ADP Payroll invoice for last week is enclosed for your review. If you have any questions regarding this invoice, please contact your ADP service team at the number provided on the invoice for assistance.
Please click below to view your invoice:
ADP INVOICE 00162774  <—- This link, if hovered over, would show the following modified address that is NOT associated in any way with ADP (http://enrollinstantly.com/file.php?document=cmJyYXVsd0000000000bi5lZHU=)
Thank you for choosing ADP Payroll.
Important: Please do not respond to this message. It comes from an unattended mailbox.

« Newer Posts - Older Posts »

Log in